Author Interview Shawndirea Tour

11 Nov

shawndireabanner

Today I’m interviewing Leonard D. Hilley II, author of fantasy novel “Shawndirea”. Enjoy the interview!

1.) First, tell us about yourself- where you live, your family and those sorts of details.

I have always loved biology and writing. I have a B.S. in biology and my MFA in creative writing. This probably explains why a lot of my novels cross between science and fantasy. My love for biology, however, is what keeps me digging deeper and asking, “What if?”

I currently live in the mountains of Kentucky with my wife and children. I love being surrounded by nature, and there are wondrous areas to hike and explore here. The serenity is priceless.

2.) When did you start writing?

I started writing at a young age. I wrote my first novel when I was 11 years old. I have always loved books, so it’s never been a surprise to me that I would write my own novels.


3.)Do you have a favorite place to write?

A lot of where I write depends upon my schedule. I teach general education courses at a local business college, so I squeeze in time to write at my office, the library, or my home office. Sometimes my best writing has occurred during these times, and I’m thankful for laptops.


4.)Why did you decide to write Shawndirea?

Shawndirea was originally set to be a novella as a backstory for Devils Den. However, the characters took over and an epic novel evolved with two more novels to follow. The fantasy world of Aetheaon is so vivid and filled with strange mystical characters that a dozen or more novels could spawn from this realm.


5.)Do you proofread/edit your own books or do you get someone else to do that for you?

 

I generally proofread each page a dozen or more times. I have several great beta readers (two that are remarkable editors), and their feedback is priceless.

6.)Tell us what you’re working on at the moment.

I’m halfway finished with the book that follows Shawndirea. I’m also working on a science fiction thriller that is a stand alone novel from my Darkness Series.

About Shawndirea

Shawndirea PB2Title: Shawndirea

Author: Leonard D. Hilley II

Genre: Fantasy

Often the smallest unexpected surprises garner the most demanding dilemmas, which proves to be the ordeal that entomologist Ben Whytten faces. While netting butterflies to add to his vast collection, he mistakenly sweeps what he thinks is the most spectacular butterfly he has ever seen into his net. Upon examining his catch, Ben is horrified to discover he has captured a faery and shredded her delicate wings into useless ribbons.

Devastated, Ben vows to take Shawndirea back to her realm, Aetheaon; but he discovers that doing so places their lives into immediate danger. To get to Aetheaon, they must pass through a portal rift deep inside the haunted cavern, Devils Den.

Once they cross the rift, Ben enters a world where mysteries, magic, betrayal, and power struggles await. He must adapt quickly or die because Aetheaon is filled with enchanted creatures and numerous races where chaos often dominates order. And since Shawndirea’s destined for the throne of Elvendale, opposing dark forces plot to prevent her from ever reaching her kingdom again. The faery’s magic isn’t enough to fully protect them, so he must trust other adventurers to aid them during their journey.

Author Bio

IMG_0042Leonard D. Hilley II currently lives in the mountains of Kentucky with his wife, Christal, and their two children.  He is the author of The Darkness Series–Predators of Darkness: Aftermath, Beyond the Darkness, The Game of Pawns, and Death’s Valley.

Links

Book link: http://www.amazon.com/Shawndirea-Chronicles-Aetheaon-Book-One-ebook/dp/B00KYTQWUY

Blog link: http://deimosweb-hilley.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @Deimosweb

Facebook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Leonard-D-Hilley-IIauthor-page/157289854329916?ref=hl

Shawndirea is available via Kindle Unlimited as well.

Leave a Reply

