Character Interview Between Land and Sea

19 Oct

betweenlandandseabanner

I’m hosting a character interview today for the tour for paranormal romance “Between Land and Sea”. I’m interviewing Isabella, a woman who’s obviously been through a lot. Welcome, Isabella.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

 

For the first twenty-three years of my life, I was Isabella of the Mediterranean kingdom, granddaughter of chief elder Annabella. Each year, since turning eighteen, I was crowned Most Beautiful Mermaid—a tribute to my auburn tresses, mesmerizing green eyes, and magnificent tail. All that changed when I swam ashore one evening and met Andrew Bradley III. I fell madly in lust—I now know that wasn’t love—and gave up my tail for him. In a fit of rage, Annabella chopped off my hair, aged me thirty years, and gave me twenty extra pounds to carry. Andrew was horrified and abandoned me on the fog-drenched shores of southwest England, leaving with only a suitcase and a magic tablet.

What is your role in the story?

 

I am the protagonist of Between Land and Sea. The storyline revolves around my struggles to reinvent my human persona of Barbara Davies, a fifty-three-year-old woman who lived in her husband’s shadow. Thankfully, I have the magic tablet with online mermaid support. I don’t think I could have managed with the unimpressive résumé I was given—a Philosophy degree and a handful of volunteer positions and low-level jobs.

 

What is your favorite hobby?

 

In the kingdom, I enjoyed storytelling. Each evening, thousands of mermaids and mermen would gather to hear me spin inspiring and motivating tales. I was able to use those storytelling talents in my career counseling and corporate training positions on Earth but felt the need to do more. So, in my spare time, I wrote It’s Your Time, a self-help book for middle-aged woman trying to reinvent themselves. To unwind from all that cerebral activity, I cook and bake.

 

What is the challenge you’re trying to overcome during the story?

 

Unlike other mermaids who maintained their spectacular looks, I faced an upward battle as an overweight, middle-aged woman with few prospects for the future. While I am grateful for all the support I received from Lisa738, the Numbers mermaid assigned to my magic tablet, I had to dig deep and find those internal gifts that had not been taken away. I also had to heal my bruised heart and learn to love and trust human males.

 

If you could make one wish, what would it be?

 

If you had asked me this question when Andrew first abandoned me, I would have wished for my easy, comfortable mermaid life. The more time I spend on earth, however, the more I realize the necessity of blooming wherever I am planted. In this case, Carden—a small town just west of Toronto. Right now, my goals are motivated by anger toward my grandmother, who cruelly transformed me, and my mother, who abandoned me four days after my birth. My wish—I want to thrive as Barbara Davies and demonstrate to everyone that I can survive and thrive without my spectacular Bella looks and powers.

About The Book

BetweenLandAndSea_highResjpgTitle: Between Land and Sea

Author: Joanne Guidoccio

Genre: Paranormal Romance

 After giving up her tail for an international banker, Isabella of the Mediterranean kingdom is aged beyond recognition. The horrified banker abandons her on the fog-drenched shores of southwest England, leaving her to face a difficult human journey as a plain and practically destitute fifty-three-year-old woman.

With the help of a magic tablet and online mermaid support, Isabella evolves into the persona of Barbara Davies. Along the way, she encounters a cast of unforgettable characters, among them former mermaids, supportive and not-so-supportive women, deserving and undeserving men, and several New Agers.

Author Bio

Guidoccio 001In high school, I dabbled in poetry, but decided to wait until I had more life experiences before writing a novel. The original plan was to get a general arts degree and take a few years off to travel and write. Instead, I gave in to my practical Italian side and obtained degrees in mathematics and education.

While I experienced many satisfying moments during my teaching career, I never found the time and energy to write. In 2008, I took advantage of early retirement. Slowly, a writing practice emerged and my articles and book reviews started appearing in newspapers, magazines and online.

My debut novel, Between Land and Sea, a paranormal romance about a middle-aged mermaid, was released by Soul Mate Publishing in September 2013.

I live and write in Guelph, Ontario.

Links

Website:                       http://joanneguidoccio.com

Twitter :                       https://twitter.com/joanneguidoccio

Facebook:                    https://www.facebook.com/authorjoanneguidoccio

LinkedIn:                     https://www.linkedin.com/in/joanneguidoccio

Goodreads:                  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23116272-between-land-and-sea

Amazon:                      http://www.amazon.com/Joanne-Guidoccio/e/B00FAWJGCG

TRAILERS

Two trailers for Between Land and Sea:

Father Time Blinked

It’s Your Time

Giveaway

A random winner will win a $25 amazon gift card during the tour. Follow the link below to participate in the tour.

Go here to participate in the tour giveaway.

4 Responses to “Character Interview Between Land and Sea”

  1. Joanne Guidoccio October 19, 2014 at 9:36 am #

    Thank you for hosting me. 🙂

  2. joneva2013 October 19, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    Enjoyed the interview

  3. Lauren O October 20, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

    Love any book dealing with mermaids. Great interview!

Leave a Reply

