Book Excerpt Deviation

11 Oct

deviationbanner

I’m hosting a snippet today from a young adult dystopian novel called “Deviation”. The snippet features a kiss scene, so I’m sure you’ll all enjoy it. *wink wink*

Book Excerpt

“I’m going to kiss you,” he warned me.

“Don’t . . . ” I answered weakly as his fingers rested on the back of my neck and his thumb softly traced my cheek.

“Don’t what?”

“Don’t . . . stop.” What was I saying? Was I telling him to stop or not to stop?I wasn’t sure that my mind and heart were listening to one another.

Whatever the meaning of my mutterings, Ozzy took it as an invitation. He brushed his lips against mine and I closed my eyes, letting his mouth leave soft, smoldering, caresses on my lips. The light brushing of skin on skin mingling with hot breath was intoxicating and made me feel lightheaded. I tried to tell myself it was just the concussion and not a genuine reaction to the infuriating boy I couldn’t seem to say no to. At least not successfully.

Ozzy’s mouth took its time exploring me, trailing down my neck, across my jaw, and then back where it had started. When I reached up to thread my hand into his hair, I briefly felt him smile against my lips. This was nothing like any kiss I’d had before. This was perfect. His hands moved down over my shoulders, his arms wrapping around my back to pull me close. My breathing stuttered and became desperate as he continued to kiss me . . . gently . . . passionately . . . skillfully.

A little too skillfully.

How many other girls had he kissed just like this? Probably lots.

Probably Quinnie.

And that killed the mood. I turned my head away and pushed on his chest to create some distance.

“What’s wrong?” he murmured.

“I’ve had enough.” Lie.

“Are you sure?” Ozzy asked, trying to catch my mouth with his again.

“Totally sure.” Another lie. And another push to create more distance between us.

“Maybe I could convince you otherwise,” Ozzy suggested, leaning forward, brushing his lips against mine, his breath leaving a trail of warm promises along my mouth.

I straightened my arm to keep him a safe distance away. Safe enough that I wouldn’t be tempted. “Not necessary,” I struggled to keep my willpower strong and the tremor out of my voice. “You weren’t that great the first time around.” The lie of my lifetime.

Ozzy backed away from me, the surprise on his face was quickly replaced by intrigued curiosity. I expected to see annoyance, not a smile. But there it was, a cocky smile. It seemed impossible to offend him.

“Well, I’ll take that as a challenge,” he announced.

About Deviation

deviation_cover_ebookTitle: Deviation

Author: Christine Manzari

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Being a Sophisticate of the Program seems like it’d be a pretty sweet deal: a little genetic alteration and anyone can be smarter, faster, and stronger. It’s a dream come true. All you have to give up is your freedom.

Cleo is a Sophisticate and she has a bright future in the Program. But she has a secret. When she gets upset, bad things happen. Explosive things. Things she can’t control.

When her secret is discovered, she’s sent to the Academy to train in the military branch of the Program. She’s destined to be a human weapon in the war that’s been going on since Wormwood occurred nearly 30 years ago. She soon learns that although her ability is unique, there are others like her — other Sophisticates with lethal skills and odd code names like Archerfish and Mimic Octopus.

Immersed in a dangerous game of supernatural powers and dubious motives, Cleo doesn’t know who to trust. Ozzy, the annoyingly attractive cadet who has perfect aim in weapons class and deviant lips behind closed doors, begs her not to use her powers. He’s the golden boy of the Program, but can she trust him? Or will she find herself a target, caught in his crosshairs?

Author Bio

tineredThe first thing Christine does when she’s getting ready to read a book is to crack the spine in at least five places. She wholeheartedly believes there is no place as comfy as the pages of a well-worn book. She’s addicted to buying books, reading books, and writing books. Books, books, books. She also has a weakness for adventure, inappropriate humor, and coke (the caffeine-laden bubbly kind). Christine is from Forest Hill, Maryland where she lives with her husband, three kids, and her library of ugly spine books.

Links

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Wattpad

Deviation on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Deviation-Sophisticates-Book-Christine-Manzari-ebook/dp/B00EFZAUYM

Deviation on B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/deviation-christine-manzari/1116503777

Deviation on Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/345818

Leave a Reply

