Character Interview for the Loving is Good Tour

29 Sep

lovingisgoodbanner

I’m hosting a character interview today for the book tour for sweet new adult romance “Loving is Good”. I’ll be interviewing Celia, the main character of the novel. Welcome to my blog, Celia. It’s great to have you here. (and welcome of course to the author of the book as well!)

Character Interview

Can you tell us a little about yourself? 

My name is Celia Mendoza and I am a fraud. I earn my living offering thoughtful advice about passionate love, heartache, and romance, but I lack practical experience. There was Mario in high school and another half dozen short-term romantic encounters when I was at Stanford, but the real thing? Nope. I shouldn’t have taken the job at the Journal for that reason alone, but I couldn’t pass up the offer. Writers fresh out of school would kill to be in my shoes. We all have to pay our dues and mine is working as Luna Love.

I like eating carbs, especially the ones my Mom and Tia Jo serve up on their food truck, Mi Vida, which means, My Life. So far carbs and I get along well, I’ll see how that goes in the future. I’m on the fence about love and ever after, to be honest. But I’d like to take a chance on romance, give it a whirl, and get some real life experience. I like to think of myself as savvy, fearless woman, but the truth is I am still discovering what I am made of. My mom tells me this is one journey a woman is on all the days of her life. It’s going to be a long trip for me.

What is your role in the story?

I’m the narrator. Being a writer I couldn’t help but notice the story inside of my own story. A young woman who hasn’t a clue about where her life is going, hasn’t had a second date in forever, and is earning a living as a romance advice columnist. I had a professor at Stanford who was always telling his students that life is far more compelling than a good book. I can’t disagree. After Gabe and I started dating I decided to write a novel based on me. That’s what writer’s do, right? They write what they know.

 What is your favorite hobby?

 Besides reading there is music, but probably ahead of those two is the cinema. My dad grew up under the Hollywood sign, somewhere off Sunset Blvd, and fell in love the glitz of the movies. When I was growing up we went every weekend to the theater and when there wasn’t something new, we watched old movies on the Turner Network channel.

What is the challenge you’re trying to overcome during the story?

Letting go of the ever-after notion of romantic love. Sometimes love is a moment that last an entire lifetime, but more often it is not, it is just the moment. Love is just an experience we shouldn’t be afraid to chance heartbreak on…

If you could make one wish, what would it be?

To be kissed by Rhett Butler.

Loving is Good

perf5.000x8.000.inddTitle: Loving is Good

Author: Brenda Moguez

Genre: Sweet romance / new adult

Celia Mendoza is not living La Vida Loca. She put her graduate studies on hold after her father died. Now she dishes out advice in her e-zine column, Luna Love, Loving is Good. The problem is, she hasn’t had a second date or a kiss in over a year. Then Gabe Mercer, a modern-day Adonis, shows up, daring her to take a chance. The string of broken hearts in his wake turns Celia off, but his relentless encouragement to pursue her dream of becoming a serious journalist contradicts his reputation, making it hard to fight the pull of his topaz, come-hither eyes. He’s everything Luna Love tells her readers to take a chance on, but Celia can’t decide if a chance encounter is worth the gamble. But life has a will of its own, and hers is pushing Celia to accept the uncertainty and run towards her destiny.

Author Bio

moguez_headshotBrenda Moguez lives in San Francisco. She writes fiction with quirky, strong women, with non-formulaic endings because life isn’t always perfect. She writes by the light of the moon and between conference calls. She has aspirations for a fully staffed villa in Barcelona and funding aplenty for a room of her own. When she’s not working on a story, she writes love letters to the universe, dead poets, and Mae West. You can find her at http://www.brendamoguez.com and https://www.facebook.com/BrendaMoguez, where she explores passionate pursuits in all its forms.

Links

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Loving-Good-Luna-Brenda-Moguez-ebook/dp/B00MG7JL2I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1408220319&sr=8-1&keywords=brenda+moguez

Barnes and Nobel

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loving-is-good-brenda-moguez/1120060641?ean=2940149624850

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BrendaMoguez

Twitter:  @BrendaMoguez

Email: brenda.moguez@gmail.com

My website:

http://www.brendamoguez.com

Leave a Reply

