Character Interview Hostile Takeover Book Tour

23 Aug

hostiletakeoverbanner

I’m hosting a character interview for the book tour for mystery / thriller / sci-fi “Hostile Takeover”. I’m interviewing Rafe and Kama from the book. Enjoy the interview!

Character Interview

Can you tell us a little about yourself? Who are you? What is your role in the story?

Rafe: Thanks for inviting me to the interview. I’m Raphael McTavish, new CEO of EcoMech Corp. Call me Rafe. I’ve brought along my—

Kama: —liaison from Oasis Corp, Kamala Bhatia.

Rafe (grinning at Kama): When she isn’t working undercover as a computer tech, or a teacher. We’ve come to Harvest, EcoMech’s colony world and corporate headquarters, to find the man who blackmailed my predecessor and brother-in-law, Leon Goldman.

Kama (leaning in): And he plans to do that by painting a target on his back so the blackmailer will come after him. Moorhk! I’m here to make sure he doesn’t get himself killed.

Rafe (clears throat): I joined Earth Force when I was 16, and left it at 21 to open my own company, Security Partners. Over the past nine years, I’ve grown Security Partners into one of the most successful privately-held businesses in the galaxy.

Kama: Don’t be fooled by his expensive wardrobe and thousand credit haircut. If you think he’s one of those soft corporate bastards, you haven’t seen him take on the goon squad in hand-to-hand combat.

Rafe: It was hard handing over control of Security Partners to my second-in-command to take the job at EcoMech, but I owed Leon’s father, Aaron Goldman, a favor.

Kama: The hard part was returning to Harvest to face his family. They haven’t spoken since the suicide of his wife fourteen years ago. His father is a piece of work.

Rafe (placing a hand on Kama’s arm): Perhaps now isn’t the time…

What is your favorite hobby?

Kama: He’s a workaholic. He doesn’t have time for hobbies.

Rafe: I admit I work hard. I play hard, too—scuba diving, windsurfing, swimming. Then there’s the pickup soccer games, Alpine skiing, tinkering with flyers.

What is the challenge you’re trying to overcome during the story?

Rafe: To catch a ruthless blackmailer.

Kama: Liar. The real challenge is facing your father, who still thinks of you as a murderer. And not letting those sociopaths on the board twist you into one of them.

Rafe: And getting Kama to open up to me. She sees herself as Robin Hood, hacking corporate computer systems to help the downtrodden. I’d like to know what drives her to take that kind of risk.

If you could make one wish, what would it be?

Rafe (squirming): I’d stop my wife from murdering our children and committing suicide.

Kama: If your father had treated you right, you wouldn’t have married Youko. Married with three kids on the way at 16! That’s insane.

Rafe: I knew Youko had issues. I should have done more…

Tell us a secret about you.

Rafe: After my mother died, I stole my father’s shiny new flyer and wrecked it. I was 14. I’d been partying with other kids out in the canyons. I was depressed and wanted to die. I pulled the anti-collision chip from the flyer and did my best to splatter myself into a cliff face. I would have succeeded except that I in my drunken stupor, I pulled the GPS instead of the anti-collision chip. I still wrecked, but not as spectacularly as I’d planned. My brother-in-law, Ben Nighthorse, figured it out. He made me promise I’d never try suicide again. He and my sister, Shannon, took me in. If not for his guidance, I wouldn’t be here today.

Hostile Takeover

HTKindleCoverTitle: Hostile Takeover

Author: K.S. Ferguson

Genre: Mystery / Thriller / Sci-Fi

Rafe McTavish, security expert and new CEO at interplanetary mega-corp EcoMech, and his undercover ally Kama Bhatia, hacker and corporate spy, continue their pursuit of a ruthless blackmailer in the sequel to Calculated Risk.

When Rafe’s arrival on EcoMech’s frontier colony world ruins their adversary’s plan for supremacy, events take a deadly turn. As tensions amongst the workers rise and unrest turns to violence, Rafe and Kama must race to unmask a killer before Rafe and his family fall victims to a murderous hostile takeover.

Author Bio

K S Ferguson has published three novels, Calculated Risk, Hostile Takeover, and Touching Madness, and one critically-acclaimed novella, Puncher’s Chance (co-written with James Grayson,) which appeared in the June 2006 edition of Analog Science Fiction and Fact, America’s longest-running science fiction magazine. She enjoys writing suspense and murder mysteries in futuristic and fantasy settings, and also writes fiction in the guise of technical manuals for unfinished software—otherwise known as help documentation.

Links

K S Ferguson website: http://www.ksferguson.net

Hostile Takeover at Smashword link: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/455719

Hostile Takeover at Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LLP9LTY

Giveaway

Win a set of print copies of the series. Follow the link below to participate.

Go here to participate in the giveaway.

Leave a Reply

