Author Interview for Hold Still Book Tour

13 Jun

holdstillbanner

I’m interviewing Lisa Regan today. She’s the author of mystery / suspense novel “Hold Still”. Welcome to The Book Daily, Lisa!

1)                 First, tell us about yourself – where you live, your family, and those sorts of details.

I live and work (full-time) in Philadelphia. I have a wonderful husband and a six year old daughter. Our life pretty much revolves around our daughter.  We both have very large families so we get to have a lot of good times with our extended families on a regular basis. I have a Bachelor’s degree in English and a Master of Education degree from Bloomsburg University. I used to study martial arts. I like to read and write in what little spare time I have. I hate to cook but I love to bake.  I don’t like chicken. I love pastries and ice cream, and I’m allergic to alcohol. I think that covers the basics.

 

2)                 How long have you been writing?

Since I was eleven years old so that would be 26 years.

 

3)                 Do you have a favorite place to write?

In the car. There are very few distractions in the car.

 

4)                 Why did you decide to write Hold Still?

I had written this dream sequence scene which later became the dream that the main character, Jocelyn keeps having. I kept coming back to it, thinking it belonged in a story. It haunted me, really. So one day I just decided to build a plot around it. It took on a life of its own after that.

 

5)                 Who is your favorite character in your book and why?

Well, it’s definitely the main character, Jocelyn. I love her the most because she is actually able to express her anger. Not always in the best or most constructive ways, but it’s out there. Writing about her was really liberating. I think a lot of women bottle their anger because they’re always put in the position of peacemaker or the position of smoothing things over, so they never get to adequately express their own anger. I wouldn’t recommend doing the things that Jocelyn does, but I do love that she doesn’t hold back.

 

6)                 How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

Well, it’s the bad guy, Face. He hates women and he has zero regard for human life. He is sadistic and that makes him very dangerous because ultimately, he isn’t really someone who can be reasoned with.

 

7)                 Do you proofread/edit your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?

I do a few rounds myself but I know I’ll never catch everything so I absolutely always have someone else do it. I have critique partners who are just excellent. My friend and fellow author, Nancy S. Thompson is a freelance editor so she helps me tremendously. I also used another editor for content this time, T.S. Tate (the more eyes the better) and I used an excellent freelance proofreader, Tajare Taylor. Even after I had been over the manuscript 25 times, I was amazed at how many typos and other issues she caught. She saved my behind!

 

8)                 Tell us what you’re working on at the moment.

I’ve already started the second Jocelyn Rush novel which centers around a cold case brought to her by a former Philadelphia Homicide Detective who only has a few months left to live. I’m also working on a sequel to Finding Claire Fletcher titled Over the Edge as well as a book called Harm which is about a teenage boy who stops a school shooting using only his mind and then goes on the run with his dad to avoid being captured by a bunch of shadow organizations that want to use his powers for dubious purposes.

Hold Still

Hold_Still_Ebook_2500Title: Hold Still

Author: Lisa Regan

Genre: Mystery / Suspense

After saving her three-year-old daughter from a car-jacking, off-duty police detective Jocelyn Rush ends up in the ER.  The last person she expects to run into is Anita Grant, former prostitute and an old acquaintance from Jocelyn’s days on patrol.  In spite of her obvious injuries—mutilated hands and feet—Anita refuses to talk about what happened. Reluctantly, Jocelyn backs off, and Anita’s case goes to Philadelphia’s Special Victims Unit.

Before long, Jocelyn is pulled into the SVU’s investigation.  Anita is finally ready to talk, but only to Jocelyn. Her story is harrowing, even to a seasoned veteran like Jocelyn. Working with SVU, Jocelyn’s investigation unearths a series of similar crimes going back four years.  Three men are preying on local prostitutes, viciously assaulting and mutilating them.

The police apprehend two of the suspects, but the third eludes capture. As the hunt for the most sadistic of the three intensifies, and his crimes escalate, Jocelyn and her colleagues have precious few leads.  Then a monster from Jocelyn’s past resurfaces.  She doesn’t want to be reminded of the terrible secret that destroyed her family nearly twenty years earlier, but the man offers her a lead that could crack Anita’s case.

To solve it, Jocelyn must connect her past with her present—before a sadistic attacker sets his sights on her.

Author Bio

Lisa Regan is a suspense novelist. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She is a member of Sisters In Crime. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. Her debut novel, Finding Claire Fletcher won Best Heroine and was runner up in Best Novel in the eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards for 2013.

Links

Author Website: www.lisaregan.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Lisa-Regan/e/B009YY091I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Lisa-Regan/189735444395923

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lisalregan

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6443334.Lisa_Regan

Purchase links:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Smashwords       Kobo

One Response to “Author Interview for Hold Still Book Tour”

  1. Lisa Regan June 13, 2014 at 5:06 pm #

    Thank you so much for hosting me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

