Author Interview The Frost of Springtime

9 Jun

frostofspringtimebanner

1) First, tell us about yourself – where you live, your family, and those sorts of details.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog! Let’s see … I live in Sunny California with Teddy, my super goofy Polish Lowland Sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of eleven years. Richard and I began dating during our freshman year and have been together ever since. He’s truly my soul mate and greatest inspiration … I’m so grateful to have found him at such a young age! 🙂 I recently graduated from Chapman University’s film school with a BA in Screenwriting and am now pursing my Masters in Teaching (with an emphasis in English).

Aside from writing, my interests include researching history (especially 19th century France and the Middle Ages), avidly reading, singing, cooking, health and fitness, playing the violin, videogames (I’m a bit of a nerd at heart), loyally following television shows, philosophy, and animals.


2) How long have you been writing?

Since before I can remember. Writing is my life’s blood, my passion, my obsession. As a child, one of my favorite pastimes was imagining stories and characters while my mom would jot them down for me. Now, at the ripe age of twenty-six, my passion for creating living, breathing worlds is stronger than ever.


3) Do you have a favorite place to write?

Snuggled up in bed with either my laptop, iPad, or a good old fashion notebook and fountain pen.


4) Why did you decide to write The Frost of Springtime? 

The Frost of Springtime emerged from my love of French history and unconventional romances. I have always been drawn to the darker facets of love, and this served as a central inspiration for the characters and storyline.

Additionally, nineteenth century France has always been a passion of mine. It was an era of conflict, political intrigue, and romance. I love unusual settings, and the 1871 Paris Commune rarely appears in storytelling. It is a vastly overlooked, yet historically devastating event. The revolution lasted only for 72 days—and, in that time, 100,000 men, women, and children were either murdered or exiled to the colonies. I believe that the Communards’ stand against the government truly encompasses the patriotic spirit of the French people. It represents an eternal love and loyalty to the city of Paris.


5) Who is your favorite character in your book and why?

Aleksender de Lefèvre. I hold a special affinity for tortured heroes—and he is very much a wounded soul. Between his twisted past and the horrors of the battlefield, Aleksender has endured an unbelievable amount of pain and suffering.


6) How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealing to you?

Honestly, I put so much development and heart into each character … there isn’t one that I don’t love! Even Christophe Cleef, one of the central antagonists of the story, is deeply special to me. Every character is my child—and I take great care to ensure each one is given identifiable, humanizing qualities.


7) Do you proofread/edit your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?

After writing the initial story, I go through several substantive edits/proofreads before calling it a day. I also share my work with beta readers, though I seek their emotional reactions to the plot/characters and do not ask them to proofread.

I’ve found that reading the manuscript across different formats (hard copy, desktop, kindle, iPad) is the most effective approach; it allows you to see the words with “fresh eyes,” and thus catch mistakes you might have otherwise overlooked.


8) Tell us what you’re working on at the moment.

I have several novels in the works, including Finding Gabriel, an edgy historical romance set during the Napoleonic Wars, a historical romance/horror hybrid set within a Victorian asylum (I’m super excited about this one), a medieval historical romance, a few contemporary romances, and a horror. Finding Gabriel is currently in the rewrite phase, and should be completed within the next few months (crosses fingers)!

About The Book

THE FROST OF SPRINGTIME - Cover ArtTitle: The Frost of Springtime

Author: Rachel L. Demeter

Genres: Historical Romance, Historical Fiction

Publication Date: 2/14/14

Publisher: Black Lyon Publishing

Book Blurb:

To rescue her was to rescue his own soul.

On a cold Parisian night, Vicomte Aleksender de Lefèvre forges an everlasting bond with a broken girl during her darkest hour, rescuing her from a life of abuse and misery. Tormented by his own demons, he finds his first bit of solace in sheltering little Sofia Rose.

But when Aleksender is drawn away by the Franco-Prussian war, the seasons pass. And in that long year, Sofia matures into a stunning young woman—a dancer with an understanding of devotion and redemption far surpassing her age.

Alongside his closest friend, Aleksender returns home to find that “home” is gone, replaced by revolution, bloodshed, betrayal—and a love always out of reach. Scarred inside and out, he’s thrust into a world of sensuality and violence—a world in which all his hours have now grown dark, and where only Sofia might bring an end to the winter in his heart.

Inspired by the 1871 Paris Commune, The Frost of Springtime is a poignant tale of revolution, redemption, and the healing power of love.

WATCH THE BOOK TRAILER
ADD TO GOODREADS

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon (Kindle eBook) *Available in the Kindle Lending Library
Amazon (Paperback)
Barnes & Noble

Author Bio

RachelDemeter_portraitRachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and high school sweetheart of ten years. She enjoys writing dark, edgy romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and examine the redeeming power of love.

Imagining stories and characters has been Rachel’s passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mom would jot them down for her. She has a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether sculpting the protagonist or antagonist, she always ensures that every character is given a soul.

Rachel strives to intricately blend elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some common themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness. Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

Author Links

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Google+
Pinterest

RACHEL L. DEMETER’S NEWSLETTER.

One Response to “Author Interview The Frost of Springtime”

  1. Rachel L. Demeter June 9, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

    Thanks so much for having me on your blog!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

