Character Interview The Age of Amy: The Thumper Amendment

8 May

ageofamybanner

I’m interviewing Amy today, the main character of YA contemporary “The Age of Amy: The Thumper Amendment”.

Character Interview

(AMY DAWSON is the 16-year-old title character in The Age of Amy series of books for young adults.)

Hi, Amy. Can you tell us a little about yourself? Who are you? What is your role in the story?

I’m a 16-year-old American girl. Like most teenagers, I attend high school, sleep late, and quarrel with my siblings, but that’s where the similarities end. I’m not a fan of today’s youth culture. Hi-tech gadgets are awesome, but I’ve been hacked, tracked, and cyber-attacked. Rude comments made about me through social media have me questioning the meaning of the word “friend”. These are things I can do without. Strangely, I’m not a negative person, even though everyone thinks I am. Just because I dyed a neon-blue streak in my hair, my parents think I’m some kind of rebellious teen. I guess I just expect more out of life. I look at the world and all of its problems and ask, “Is this the best you can do?”

What is your favorite hobby?

I’m a total voracious reader. I especially enjoy the classics: anything by Mark Twain, Ray Bradbury, authors like that. To Kill a Mockingbird is my all-time favorite book. If you haven’t read it, you’re missing out!

What is the challenge you’re trying to overcome during the story?

Back in the third grade I was viciously bullied by a sixth-grade boy. Now that I am older, I would like nothing better than to see that creep lick my shoes. A chance encounter with the boy opens the door for me to get even with him. The problem is, he has grown into a gentle, considerate young adult. (Did I mention that he’s also good looking?) We become fast friends. But given his past, how can I be sure that he isn’t playing with my affections? Oo, if he wasn’t so cute!

If you could make one wish, what would it be?

My wish is that people would be nicer to each other. They say that it takes twice the energy to be mean, than it does to be kind. All I know is that being cruel to some one else doesn’t feel good.

Tell us a secret about you.

Don’t tell anyone, but I think I’m falling in love with that bully from grade school. What? You’re going to post this?!

About the Book

amy2_coverTitle: The Age of Amy: The Thumper Amendment

Author: Bruce Edwards

Genre: YA Contemporary

Congress has lowered the voting age to 14! Not one to refuse political involvement, 16-year-old Amy patriotically joins a campaign to elect the next President of the United States. Her real reason for participating, however, is much more personal: the opposing candidate’s son bullied her when she was a 3rd grader. Thwarting his father’s bid for the presidency would be the perfect way to get even with him!

Campaign reform laws now require presidential contenders to face off on a TV reality show. The “race” for the White House has become just that! Absurd challenges await the candidates as they speed cross-country toward Washington. But the campaign trail turns bumpy, when their buses take an unexpected detour into fantasy world! There they are confronted by half-human creatures, haunted by dead presidents, and rocketed into an economic dystopia of the future—all while being viewed by a worldwide television audience.

Amy is on board for the journey, as her grade school nemesis rides on the competition’s campaign bus. But along the way she develops second thoughts about avenging the boy. Her brutal offender has changed in the last seven years, becoming thoughtful and compassionate. (And cute!) Amy’s contempt for him surprisingly turns to affection. Is she falling in love?

Author Bio

amy2_bruce_edwardsAward-winning author Bruce Edwards is a former Hollywood film animator, and brings the whimsy of a character artist to his stories. A music major in college, he is also an accomplished musician and composer. His other creative endeavors include a stint as a puppeteer and performing magic at Disneyland. Bruce’s thought-provoking books for young adults are never short on fun, fantasy, and imagination.

Links

AUTHOR LINKS

AgeOfAmy.com
Book Trailer
Facebook
Twitter

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
Indie Bound

One Response to “Character Interview The Age of Amy: The Thumper Amendment”

  1. Bruce Edwards (@BruceEdwards10) May 8, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

    A special thanks to THE BOOK DAILY for hosting my May, 2014 virtual book tour. Hope to see you again at the release of book #3 of The Age of Amy series this Fall. (http://www.AgeOfAmy.com/book3.html)

Leave a Reply

