Author Interview Surviving Tour

8 Apr

survivingbanner

I’m hosting an interview today with J.L. Sprague, the author of “Surviving”, a romantic suspense novel.

1)          First, tell us about yourself – where you live, your family, and those sorts of details.

     About me….hmmmm…I live in TN (USA!) and my accent is strongly southern due to that fact. I am proud to be from the south. Most of my family lives around me and I am very close to all my family because of that. I have one son who is currently three years old. If you ever read my blog you’ll probably read about me complaining about all the cartoons that are constantly on the TV (whether we are watching them or not!) Not having cartoons on the TV causes a major riot at my house. My husband and I are high school sweethearts. If I ever write about love I could just think about my husband. Seriously, it is ridiculous how crazy in love we are. I should write a book about my husband and me. I’m actually not being sarcastic here. We have a pretty good story. I’d probably have to liven it up just a bit. I like a little action in my stories. 🙂
2)      How long have you been writing?
     I’ve written in journals for as long as I can remember but truly writing…only for a couple of years. Surviving was the first novel I finished. I have a three or four stories started that just didn’t go as I wanted so I just put them into a “later” file and closed it for later ideas. Since I’ve always written in journals I prefer to write that way and I still do as much as I can. I feel like when I type it all out on the computer there is something so final about it but writing it out by hand I can be more creative and let the words flow and change however I need them to.
3)          Do you have a favorite place to write?
     I have a desk to write at and I do write there but I prefer to grab my computer (or my journal) put on my headphones and get comfortable on my bed. I can’t always do that because I’m often at home alone with my three year old son.
4)          Why did you decide to write Surviving?
     I always think answering this question is funny and no one would ever understand unless he or she were me. By day (or more like morning and afternoon) I am a school bus driver. I was already working on another story and about 30,000 words in but while I was sitting on my bus I saw this man at the school bus ramp (you know, where all the kids load up in the afternoon) and I just saw the whole story in my head. The guy was exactly like my character Landon in Surviving. Dark, short black hair, athletic build…you know the type most women like to fantasize about…and the way he wore his sunglasses was just something I lusted after a little too much for my married self. So I wrote a book about him. I didn’t write an outline or anything, I just started writing.
5)      Who is your favorite character in your book and why?
     I’m not sure I can pick a favorite between the two main characters, Jenna and Landon. I do love Landon however because of the way I picture him in my head. I like alpha males and I wanted to portray him as one. Some people like a strong female character and some like a strong alpha male. I tend to like the alpha male.
I do like Jenna however because I feel like when I write a female character I can be that character…so I can be whoever I want to be, in whatever world I want.
6)      How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealing to you?
     If you read Surviving you will find out that there are three bad people in the story. I don’t like any of them because of the things they did and do. The character Laurie Lancaster is Jenna’s mom. She isn’t the worst of the three but I just hate her. I am so reluctant to say anything beyond that because I don’t want to ruin anything for future readers. I can say however that in my head, Laurie Lancaster is much worse than I wrote her to be.
7)      Do you proofread/edit your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?
     For Surviving, I had to do everything myself, so please forgive me if anything is all messed up. I asked several people I trust to proofread for me but I never received feedback from any of them. There were completely legitimate reasons for the lack of response. For instance, one girl left to go to Cancun and wouldn’t be returning until after my deadline. I had a lot of bad luck on my side. I’m not complaining at all. It was a great learning experience and one that I will always remember for future books. 

8)      Tell us what you’re working on at the moment.
     Currently, I am working on a book that has yet to be named. I am approaching this one completely different from the way I wrote Surviving so it is another learning experience. I am in love with this story and it is constantly on my mind so I think it is a possibility that it will make it’s debut sooner rather than later. 
     When I’m finished with my current project I intend to write a book to follow-up Surviving. Although Surviving is written in both Jenna and Landon’s point of views, it is Jenna’s story. Now I want to write Landon’s story, which will begin with the ending of Surviving. It has a tentative title of Thriving.  Surviving however, was initially intended to be a stand-alone and can be read as such. 
 
Thanks for having me! 🙂

 

Surviving

SurvivingTitle: Surviving

Author: J.L. Sprague

Genre: Romance / Suspense

Living in a world where there are only lows and never highs, Jenna’s memory has trained itself to forget. Forgetting the bad was never a problem for Jenna until she forgets the one memory she never should have forgotten.

Landon has never forgotten, even when he desperately wishes he could. She haunts him. By chance they meet again but Jenna still does not remember Landon. What Landon doesn’t know is that Jenna has secrets. Secrets that change everything.

Their love for one another is the only thing that can heal years of abuse – for both of them.

When tragedy strikes memories are triggered and Jenna’s whole world changes.

Can Landon help Jenna survive at the hands of a madman?

Author Bio

J.L. Sprague loves dark chocolate covered almonds and her life is pretty much one big dark chocolate covered almond, sweet on the outside and crunchy goodness on the inside. Family takes up the biggest portion of her day and book boyfriends take up the other portion. If she can’t find a good book boyfriend, then she just creates one and the writing portion of her day begins.

Outside of family, reading, writing and eating dark chocolate covered almonds, J.L. Sprague loves music and the outdoors. She studied Music Education in college, then changed her mind after three very long years to study Criminal Justice. Finally, after studying and studying she realized that reading and writing were more her forte. After starting her family with her crazy, supportive husband, she started doing what she loved, writing.

SURVIVING is J.L. Sprague’s first novel but it’s not her last. She has some very interesting ideas that you may love or hate. Whether you love or hate her stories, through all the twists and turns, there will always be a happily ever after.

Links

http://facebook.com/authorjlsprague
twitter.com/jlsprague

One Response to “Author Interview Surviving Tour”

  1. jlsprague April 9, 2014 at 1:36 am #

    Thanks so much for posting!

Leave a Reply

