Author Interview The Madrona Heroes Register

18 Jan

madronaheroesbanner

I’m interviewing Hillel Cooperman today, author of young adult superhero fantasy novel “The Madrona Heroes Register”.

Author Interview

1)         First, tell us about yourself – where  you live, your family, and those sorts of details.

I live in the Madrona neighborhood of Seattle with my three kids and their three cats.

2)         How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing fiction for over a year. But I’ve been writing short-form non-fiction for the last decade or more.

3)         Do you have a favorite place to write?

Writing is kind of an arduous task. But I usually do it at my desk at home or at a hot chocolate café in a nearby neighborhood that I find particularly adorable. Also, planes. Writing on planes is great as there’s really nothing else to do.

4)         Why did you decide to write this series?

I decided to write the series in the summer of 2012 when on a trip abroad with my family.

5)         Who is your favorite character in your series and why?

Binny is my favorite character in this book. I suspect my favorite will change with each successive book. I love her because despite challenges and obstacles she uses her intelligence and perseverance to stand up and do the right thing. Even when it puts her in danger. I admire her.

6)         How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealing to you?

I think my least favorite character is Gore Grater – the head of security at Luce Laboratories. He just seems very narrow in the way he thinks. I’m sure there are things in his life that led him to this way of thinking, but it’s still unappealing. Also, he borders on violent which I don’t like.

7)         Do you proofread/edit your own books or do you get someone to do that for you?

I have an editor who does an amazing job. She’s also my kids’ mom!

8)   Tell us what you’re working on at the moment.

I’m working on the sequel – Book #5 of The Madrona Heroes Register. (It’s the second book I’m writing, but I’m writing them out of chronological order, you know… because Star Wars.)

About the Book

18670060Title: The Madrona Heroes Register

Author: Hillel Cooperman

Genre: YA Superhero Fantasy

Someone in ten-year-old Binny Jordan’s family has a super power – and it’s not her. Binny’s seven-year-old sister Cassie can turn herself invisible and now a strange man is keenly interested in what Cassie can do. Binny’s parents seem more distracted than ever, and her older brother Zach is hiding something of his own. Binny needs to find a way to protect her sister, but she’s never felt more alone.

Author Bio

Hillel Cooperman has pretended to be a superhero since he was a small child. He conceived of the story of the Madrona Heroes in the summer of 2012 on a trip abroad with his family. By winter, he had started writing in earnest. He lives in the Madrona neighborhood of Seattle with his three children, their three cats, and thousands of Lego bricks. His superpower is procrastination. The Madrona Heroes Register is his first novel.

Links

Website: http://madronaheroes.com

Twitter: @madronaheroes

Available in four parts from Amazon (for Kindle):

Part One: http://www.amazon.com/The-Madrona-Heroes-Register-Part-ebook/dp/B00FW0HREU/ref=pd_sim_kstore_2

Part Two: http://www.amazon.com/The-Madrona-Heroes-Register-Part-ebook/dp/B00FW0IQTA/ref=pd_sim_kstore_3

Part Three: http://www.amazon.com/The-Madrona-Heroes-Register-Part-ebook/dp/B00FW0W60U/ref=pd_sim_kstore_3

Part Four: http://www.amazon.com/The-Madrona-Heroes-Register-Part-ebook/dp/B00FW11WXQ/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Leave a Reply

