Book Excerpt from Russian Dolls

16 Jul

russiandollsbanner

We’re hosting a snippet from mystery/suspense novel “Russian Dolls” today. Hope you enjoy the excerpt!

Book Excerpt

I was three years older than Irina and we were polar opposites, save for our common interest in art, but still we got along more than fine. I was a lonely creature, she had dozens of friends. I was quiet and introspective; she embraced life and lived every minute with a flamboyant passion. I like to think she had a good effect on me. She tried to instil some of her positivity and joyfulness in me and I suppose to some extent it worked. My mother certainly thought so. In her own words, she found me, ‘Less of a clamped oyster’ since I befriended Irina. It was as if her liveliness was contagious.

Irina’s liveliness. I think this is the quality I envied her the most. And this is why it came as such a shock to everyone when, early Monday morning, 19th February, they found her body lying in a pool of blood on University College London’s concrete entrance steps.

I never saw the body, but the carmine evidence of what had happened was still there when I arrived. I caught glimpses of it through the backs and heads of the curious students massed by the entrance. Some were in tears; some were trying to take pictures. Words like suicide and jumper were quickly whispered and the first ludicrous theories started to float around. I only found out later, in the afternoon, that the young woman who had jumped from the rooftop was my best friend. Needless to say, I was shattered.

The black cab car jitters to a halt and this draws me back to reality. I give the driver his fee, push the door and unfold my long limbs to get out. The rain hasn’t let up and I open my umbrella. The coldness of the air — or maybe it’s the rows of headstones I can see in the distance — chills me to the bone. I quickly fasten the belt of my black trench coat a little tighter and wish I’d brought a scarf. I’m not the first to arrive and follow the progression of black suits and dark umbrellas to the little ancient-looking church. The world is grim, as if its palette of colours has been drastically reduced to nuances of grey and blue. Maybe that is what happens when a ray of sunshine such as Irina is so cruelly shut out.

Russian Dolls

FrontCoverTitle: Russian Dolls (The Neve and Egan Cases #1)

Author: Cristelle Comby

Genre: Detective, mystery, suspense

Alexandra Neve is a student at University College London whose world suddenly falls apart. When her best friend jumps from the university’s rooftop, she can’t stop herself from asking, ‘Why?’ The police rule her friend’s death a suicide and for them the case is closed — so whom can she turn to for help?

Sometimes the person you need the most is the one you least expect to find, and in this case it’s none other than Ashford Egan, a blind middle-aged history professor, who’s more willing than most to listen to what she has to say.

Neve and Egan are as different as they come. She’s restless, careless at times, and fearless when the need arises, while he’s almost the complete opposite: a deep thinker with an analytical mind, a highly rational and collected individual.

As they enter the violent world of the Russian mafia, they must overcome their differences and learn to work together. It’s their only chance if they want to survive.

Author Bio

CristelleComby_colorCristelle Comby was born and raised in the French-speaking area of Switzerland, somewhere between Geneva and Lausanne, where she still resides.

Thanks to her insatiable thirst for American and British action films and television dramas, her English is fluent.

She attributes to her origins her ever-peaceful nature and her undying love for chocolate. She has a passion for art, which also includes an interest in drawing and acting.

Russian Dolls is her first new-adult novel, and she’s hard at work on the next titles in the series.

Links

www.cristelle-comby.com
twitter: @cristelle
facebook: cristellecomby

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Russian-Dolls-Neve-cases-Volume/dp/148203039X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372740162&sr=8-1&

Leave a Reply

